Nosebleeds

Drip.  Drip.  Drip.  Drip.  Naaaah!!!   It’s more like sniffle, sniffle, pour out.  Sometimes it skips the sniffle stages and pours out.  This usually happens at the most inopportune times, like when you’re sitting on the toilet or when you are on the telephone or when you are eating eggs.  I think that’s why eggs and ketchup are such a bad combination.  I had a blood transfusion yesterday, a couple of units.  Maybe that was too much and my body just wanted to get rid of some blood.

nosebleed

None of my nosebleeds have been severe.  They are usually over in minutes.   I think the longest one lasted about 10 minutes, then after about 20 minutes, it spouted another gusher for about 5 minutes.  Most of the time, it’s the sniffle, sniffle, drip, drip, pour out or the sniffle, sniffle, pour out, drip variety.  Fortunately, I haven’t had a good shirt on during these episodes.  It’s usually a t-shirt that takes the brunt of the initial dripping and pouring.  And, while I am frantically looking for a tissue, the floor under me, or anything below my nose, become victims of the red liquid.

Cleaning up can be a bit troublesome.  You don’t want to bend over to clean the floor.  You might add to the mess.  You really don’t want to bend over, at all, for anything … for at least a few hours.  No nose blowing.  It doesn’t matter if you can’t breathe through your nose.  No nose blowing for a day or two.

Nosebleeds: so much fun!!

Almost everyone gets them.  Me: dry air, low platelets, anemia, MDS, probably the medications I’m on, etc., have something to do with it.   What do I do about nosebleeds?  Not much, and hope there is a box of tissues nearby.  Amicar is supposed to make my platelets stick together, Nplate is supposed to build up my platelet count.  Vitamin K is supposed to help with clotting.  I’ve even read where sniffing some vinegar can help stop the nosebleed.   It might work for a light bleed of the drip, drip, drip variety.  I’ve tried it.  These things, maybe they help, maybe not.

Receiving platelets no longer helps my platelet counts.  The counts go up very little and fall just as fast.  Getting platelets are short-term fixes.  There is no good reason to give me platelets when they do not stick around   If I ever actively bleed the doctors will give me some, probably a lot, but I’ve never gotten to that state.   That’s a good thing.  I don’t want to bleed out before having a chance at a a stem cell transplant.  The Nplate seems to be working, but slowly, with dosing increased weekly.  I get the Nplate injection on Friday’s.  Tuesday, the counts are up, but by the next Friday, down some.

Update on everything else:

I’ve been off antibiotics for two weeks now.  Blood culture negative, no infections.  White counts and neutrophils are good thanks to the Granix injections.  Next week, I get a chest CT scan to see if the lung crud is gone, then I see the infectious disease and pulmonary doctors the following week.  I hope things have improved.

I have a dentist appointment to get my teeth cleaned next week.  I will probably reschedule that.  I really don’t think he wants me to bleed all over the place as I get my teeth cleaned.  We’ll see what my MDS doctor has to say first.

 

One thought on “Nosebleeds

  1. Ray, so sorry you are going through all of this. When I started reading your blogs, I did so because first I wanted to keep in touch with you, and second I wanted to know how you were doing and possibly help out if there was anything I could do. After reading a number of your blogs, I’ve noticed that I’ve been appreciating your writing style. You are a very good writer and seem to have talent in that field. I know this is not a subject that is fun or easy to write about, and what you are experiencing is unbelievably difficult. Yet, in all of your blogs, in the midst of conveying incredibly hard times, your writing has a sense of humor to it which shows your amazing personality. While reading, sometimes I start to smile at your word choice or how you put the words together, and then the reality of your words sets in as I realize the true picture that the words are painting, and that you are living these words. This all got me thinking… have you ever considered writing a book? After all of this is over and you’re feeling better and back to your old self, I was wondering if you have ever considered writing a book about your experience that could help others who are going through something similar. I think you’d be very good at that. Just wanted to let you know that I appreciate your talent, I appreciate your humor, and I especially appreciate your tremendous strength. Keep writing 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

